How Moving Out of College is More Stressful than it Sounds

IMG_0374

It’s finals week here at Bona’s and there’s this rule that you have to be moved out within 24 hours of your last final. Sounds easy enough, right? No.

On top of studying for finals, I have to worry about packing and being ready to move out almost immediately. Yeah, I’m excited to be home for four months, but I don’t want to take time out of studying and eating to pack my things.

Okay, so the question comes up, why don’t I just pack after finals? Well, the answer is is that it’s easier to get it out of the way and to have a plan before moving out at the very last minute.

I’m done with my freshman year this Saturday and I have until Sunday to move out. Sounds like I have the weekend, but I don’t. My last final ends close to 7 on Saturday and packing after having a final sounds like a drag. I don’t want to spend a whole day dedicated to packing up an entire room.

My way to solve this? Pack everything you don’t need before finals actually start. Do it before you need to start studying. Then, closer to moving out do laundry and set out clothes you’ll need for the next few days and pack everything else. This is what I did. As soon as I got most of everything done and out of the way, I was so relieved.

All I have to work on now is studying. Nothing else. On Sunday all I have to do is load my things up and head home and I could not be more ready to do so.

IMG_0677.JPG

Being away from home has been a great experience, but I believe that everyone is beyond ready to just be home. I certainly miss my dog and family. I can’t wait to cuddle with my dog again at night and not have homework or studying to worry about again until the fall.

To any other college student traveling in the next week or so, safe travels and good luck on your finals!

Leave a Reply

